Disconnecting & Reconnecting!

Wifi Mongolia

How frustrating is it when your thoughts are going a million miles an hour and all you want is some peace and quiet? Or you’re trying to sleep but you toss and turn thinking about everything you need to do tomorrow? Or you feel overwhelmed with work that you can’t see clearly?

Our lives have turned into chaos, self inflicted of course, where we are constantly on the go. Mind and body! We don’t even allow time for ourselves anymore because even when we do, there’s a phone call, an SMS, a FB notification, a tweet or we’re playing a game on our phone. We are addicted to technology, but above all, we’re addicted to social connection. We feel part of life and the community from our sofa, yet we feel unsatisfied because there is no real human touch.

Don’t get me wrong …i’m a technology addict too, but i have found a balance. I use technology to communicate, keep in touch, express myself and to learn. My life is also full of outdoor exercise, inner understanding, a balanced diet (i hate the word diet. I don’t diet, I just mean i’m a balanced eater), seeing friends and family, meditating, reading, music and travelling. If i didn’t have these things in my life, i would be unsatisfied and stuck on the hampster wheel.

I also understand that i lead a very different lifestyle to most and don’t believe that mine is right. It’s just what works for me.

However, over the past 2 years I’ve started meditating for half an hour each day, due to the fact i’m a dreamer and a thinker. You can imagine how many thoughts are in my head. Overload!

I searched for guided meditation videos on youtube until i found a voice that was soothing and made me feel relaxed. Her name is Kelly Howell and since discovering her, i haven’t looked back.

Just like any new subject, the beginning is the hardest. But persist because you will get there and you will feel great for it. Meditation gives you time to switch your mind off from the world, relax, bring positivity and help you put your life into perspective. Try and incorporate half an hour into your day. I personally meditate first thing in the morning. I set my alarm a half an hour before i get up, but you find a time that suits you and try to do it at the same time everyday.

Disconnecting from the outer world allows you to reconnect with your inner self. Give it a try and find time for yourself.

This is one of my favourite Kelly Howell meditations

(Photo of myself, Carmen and Bertha in the middle of Mongolia in search of wi-fi. September 2011)

Leave a Reply

