The Senhora in the Queue at Lisboa Patisserie

Lisbon patisserie

Lisbon patisserie 2

Last weekend i went to visit some friends in London because it had been about 5 years since my last visit. Long overdue.

On Saturday afternoon we took a stroll around Ladbroke Grove, which for those of you who aren’t familiar with the area, it’s at the end of Notting Hill’s Portobello Markets. I like to refer to it as the ‘cool’ end of the markets where all the clothing and handmade accessories are sold. If you continue straight on, you’ll meander into Ladbroke Grove.

My friend Teresa, being a local to NW London, took us to a small Portuguese coffee shop that she’s been going to for 15 years, the Lisboa Patisserie. A small, very authentic and traditional Portuguese bakery where the majority of its clients were speaking Portuguese. The queue was out the door and if you looked at the plates walking out the door, they were mainly piled up with the famous egg tarts. I knew I was going to be joining them. Mmmm warm egg tarts sprinkled with cinnamon. Yum!

That was me sorted but I had 2 little mouths who were with me and they had their eyes on anything chocolate. Since this wasn’t the typical bakery, the chocolate options were difficult to identify. Especially for a 7 and a 10 year old who are used to doughnuts and muffins.

This extremely long story is to tell you about a lovely senhora we met, one person ahead of us in the queue. I don’t know her name and I didn’t take her photo but she was listening to me explain to Ronnie and Grace what each cake was. With a big smile and in her broken english she said to the kids, “Would you like half of my chocolate biscuit to see if you like it?”. Both kids looked at me surprised and politely refused the offer. Even though she insisted saying her grandson wouldn’t eat it all, the kids’ answer was still no thanks.

It’s a small gesture that i appreciated. All these small gestures add up and if they happen everyday then we start to see people and life more positively.

I went up to the lady after and we exchanged a lovely conversation about where she was from in Portugal, how long she had been living in London, what her favourite cake in the shop was, and I met her grandson, who was tucking into his chocolate biscuit. Lucky we didn’t take half 😉

If you’re in the area, pop in for a nice coffee and a sweet. (Early morning is best so I was told by the senhora)

Lisboa Patisserie, 57 Golborn Road, London. +44 208 968 5242.

Leave a Reply

