It’s ok to ask for Help!

Super_Friends_in_popular_culture

Are you a listener and not a sharer like me?

I am starting to realise that listening without sharing weighs a lot on my mind, body and soul. It churns inside and I go over and over it in my mind, yet I don’t tell anyone.

Well I can tell someone, but I don’t want to. I want to be strong, brave, independent and not have to rely on anyone to help me.

I do sometimes give in to my usual ways and find myself opening up and it feels good to be heard and helped. As much as I’d like to think I’m superwoman, sadly, I’m not.

I know I am surrounded by wonderful people who would do anything to help me, and they continually tell me to ask for help when necessary.

Last night I had to ask for help because things were out of my control and it always astonishes me how much people will do for others.

I have a rental property on the other side of the world and was having issues getting in touch with the agent and I needed to get the keys back off the tenants who were moving out that night (they emailed me 10 minutes before, telling me they were moving out that night). It was 11pm at night in Australia and it was just out of my control, so I made an executive decision to ask a friend of mine to see if she could jump into the situation and help me out.

I went to bed anxious because I hadn’t heard from the agent, the tenant or my friend, but there was no point sitting up all night stirring about it, so I went to sleep. When I woke up, my friend had emailed the tenants, told them she was getting the keys, went to the apartment at 9pm, dealt with the tenants, took photos of the meters for future bills and got in touch with another friend of mine so they could organise how to clean up the place. Apparently it was left in a bit of a state. So, these 2 friends of mine are going to meet up and work out a plan of action to help get my house ready to sell/rent.

What is the moral of the story? It’s ok to need help. It’s ok to ask. It’s ok that people want to help you. It’s ok to share. True friends will do anything for you.

What have I learnt from the story? To not feel like a burden on others. That sometimes I can’t do everything and that is ok.

One thought on “It’s ok to ask for Help!

Leave a Reply

