Routines!…like them or not?

.wake up and live

How-to-make-the-Most-of-your-Morning-Commute_P2P2013-by-Mikey-Rox_image_jpg

I’d love to say that I don’t like routines, that I live on the edge, I take each moment as it comes, however I’d be lying to myself and to you if I did.

I do have a routine, both when I’m working and travelling and to be honest, I quite like it.

When working I like to live a little before I start work. There’s nothing worse than waking up at the last minute, running to work, frustrated with the traffic, getting in the door and throwing yourself on the chair exhausted. You might as well just turn around and go home because you probably aren’t going to be productive.

If you take time to enjoy the morning, make some time for yourself, sit down to a healthy, nutritious breakfast, organise a morning coffee or meet up with a friend and do some exercise, you’d be surprised how it can change your day. I’ve also tried ignoring the news because there’s nothing worse than reading page after page of negative happenings because that just brings your mood down.

My work life routine looks like this (and it’s pretty much set in stone) :

05:45 –             wake up

05:45 – 06:15   meditate

06:15 – 06:30   breakfast (homemade muesli with honey, cinnamon & greek yoghurt)

06:30 – 07:00   get ready

07:00 – 07:50   cycle to coffee shop in the city

07:50 – 08:30   have a coffee with Fabio & Tiziana at the coffee shop and the other 

                          ‘locals’ that stop by everyday.

08:30 – 09:00   get to work!!!

When I’m travelling it’s difficult to keep up a routine, which is why I prefer vagabonding to holidaying. What is the difference between holidaying and vagabonding you ask? Holidaying is giving yourself a short amount of time (it has a start and end date) to relax by a beach in a tropical climate or to cram in as much sightseeing as possible or to visit a big city, but it doesn’t really give you a chance to experience the local lifestyle. Vagabonding is a nomadic or carefree lifestyle that enables you to meander along as you please with no set dates or times. It allows me to make a routine out of my new surroundings and get to know the local people, culture and lifestyle. 

My travel life routine looks like this (isn’t set in stone at all but is a typical day) :

07:30 –             wake up

07:30 – 08:00   meditate (if i can – depends on the surroundings)

08:00 – 09:00   breakfast (could be longer – depends where I am)

09:00 – 09:30   get ready

09:30 –              out to explore

Make the most of your day/s. If you’re unhappy with your routine, unsatisfied with your lifestyle, not motivated, then make a change. No one is going to come knocking at your door to make the change for you.

With every change comes a risk,

with every risk comes hope,

with hope comes determination,

with determination comes action,

with action comes results,

with results comes happiness.

Give it a try and kick start your day today. 

Happy Monday!!!

 

3 thoughts on “Routines!…like them or not?

    • So true. A routine and discipline are fundamental for writers. This blog helps me have a writer’s routine which is why I started it in the first place, otherwise I’d get lazy and procrastinate. Knowing someone might read my posts is enough motivation to incorporate it into my routine. After all, what’s a blog with no posts? Thanks for your comments Carol!

Leave a comment